The Washington County Commission

Once called the County Court, the modern County Commission actually functions as the legislative body of county government, working primarily through the committee system. There are nine standing committees and numerous other committees boards and commissions whose vote functions as a recommendation to the full County Commission.
Whether it is payment of bills, approval of expenditures, approval of the budget, zoning changes or new legislation, committee actions do not take on the color of law until approved by a vote of the full commission.
There are 25 commissioners in Washington County, serving in ten commission districts. Each commission district comprises several of the 40 Civil Districts, each of which is a voting precinct.
To see the Commission's adopted rules of procedure, click on the file attachment at the bottom of this page.
Originally there were 18 Civil Districts, but population growth has caused urban precincts to be subdivided in order to effect proportional distribution. One vestige of the old County Court days is that County Commissioners can still perform marriages.
1st Commission District
Greg Matherly 404 Brookwood Drive
Gray, TN 37615
gmatherly@washingtoncountytn.org
(423) 677-1327
Rick Storey 3 N Wild Cherry Court
Jonesborough, TN 37659
rstorey@washingtoncountytn.org
(423) 914-5894
vacant position    
2nd Commission District
Dr. Sam Humphreys 708 E. Mountain View Road
Johnson City, TN 37601
samhumphreys@gmail.com
(423) 282-5565
Robbie McGuire 183 Carr Cemetery Road
Johnson City, TN 37601
rmcguire@washingtoncountytn.org
(423) 676-9900
George E. "Skip" Oldham III 1604 Par Court
Johnson City, TN 37601
commissionerskip@gmail.com
(423) 928-7477
3rd Commission District
Larry England 10 McGregor Place
Johnson City, TN 37604
lengland@washingtoncountytn.org
(423) 361-7806
Mitch Meredith 2012 Northwood Drive
Johnson City, TN 37601
mmeredith@washingtoncountytn.org
(423) 928-7326
Joe Wise 305 Hillside Road
Johnson City, TN 37601
jwise@washingtoncountytn.org
(423) 202-2509
4th Commission District
Katie Baker 816 W Locust Street
Johnson City, TN 37604
kbaker@washingtoncountytn.org
(423) 737-5023
David Tomita 605 E. Holston Avenue
Johnson City, TN 37601
dtomita@washingtoncountytn.org
(423) 534-7680
Lee Chase 111 W. 11th Avenue
Johnson City, TN 37604
lchase@washingtoncountytn.org
(423) 926-1490
5th Commission District
Gary McAllister 3635 W Walnut Street
Jonesborough, TN 37659
gmcallister@washingtoncountytn.org
(423) 557-7912
Robbie Tester 31 Cherokee Ridge Court
Johnson City, TN 37604
rhtester@comcast.net
(423) 943-0188
6th Commission District
William "Joe" Grandy 620 Old Embreeville Road
Jonesborough, TN 37659
joe.grandy@ferguson.com
(423) 791-1033
Tom Foster 406 Ridgecrest Road
Jonesborough, TN 37659
tfoster@washingtoncountytn.org
(423) 753-5760
Tom Krieger 304 Jim Range Road
Jonesborough, TN 37659
tkrieger@washingtoncountytn.org
(423) 753-0106
7th Commission District
Mike Ford 191 John Garst Road
Jonesborough, TN 37659
mford0186@yahoo.com
(423) 753-0186
Mark Larkey 114 Elizabeth Avenue
Gray, TN 37615
mlarkey@comcast.net
(423) 477-3024
Bryan Davenport 1120 Keeview Drive
Gray, TN 37615
bkdaven@comcast.net
(423) 676-3216
8th Commission District
Matthew Morris 401 Leesburg Road
Telford, TN 37690
mmorris@washingtoncountytn.org
(828) 719-1613
Steve Light 153 Thornburg Hills Road
Limestone, TN 37681
steve@cambronins.com
(423) 257-4302
9th Commission District
Todd Hensley 549 Matthews Mill Road
Telford, TN 37690
thensley@washingtoncountytn.org
(423) 943-5758
Danny Edens 123 Pecanwood Drive
Jonesborough, TN 37659
dedens@washingtoncountytn.org
(423) 483-3522
10th Commission District
Forrest Boreing 634 Charlie HIcks Road
Jonesborough, TN 37659
fboreing@washingtoncountytn.org
(423) 791-0956
County commissioners are elected in the regular August election for a four-year term which begins Sept. 1. County commissioners must reside within and be a qualified voter of the district represented. County employees otherwise qualified to serve may hold office as a legislative body member.
However, no person elected or appointed as county executive, sheriff, trustee, register, county clerk, assessor of property, or any other countywide office filled by popular vote or by the legislative body may be nominated for or elected to the legislative body. If a commission member accepts nomination for any of the above offices, or for the General Assembly when the office is being filled by the legislative body, that member becomes disqualified to continue in office and a vacancy in the commission will automatically exist.
The County commission sets its meeting dates and place, but must meet at least four times a year. Vacancies are filled by the remaining commission members until a successor is elected in the next general election.
AttachmentSize
rules_of_procedures.pdf667.36 KB