The Washington County Commission

Washington County Board of County Commissioners  

Once called the County Court, the modern County Commission actually functions as the legislative body of county government, working primarily through the committee system. There are eight standing committees and numerous other committees boards and commissions whose vote functions as a recommendation to the full County Commission.
Whether it is payment of bills, approval of expenditures, approval of the budget, zoning changes or new legislation, committee actions do not take on the color of law until approved by a vote of the full commission.
There are 25 commissioners in Washington County, serving in ten commission districts. Each commission district comprises several of the 40 Civil Districts, each of which is a voting precinct.
To see the Commission's adopted rules of procedure, click on the file attachment at the bottom of this page.
Originally there were 18 Civil Districts, but population growth has caused urban precincts to be subdivided in order to effect proportional distribution. One vestige of the old County Court days is that County Commissioners can still perform marriages.

1st Commission District
Greg Matherly 404 Brookwood Drive
Gray, TN 37615
(423) 677-1327
Rick Storey 3 N Wild Cherry Court
Jonesborough, TN 37659
(423) 914-5894
Lynn Hodge 281 Highland Church Road
Johnson City, TN 37615
(423) 794-0731
2nd Commission District
Dr. Sam Humphreys 708 E. Mountain View Road
Johnson City, TN 37601
(423) 282-5565
Robbie McGuire 197 Carr Cemetery Road
Johnson City, TN 37601
(423) 676-9900
George E. "Skip" Oldham III 1604 Par Court
Johnson City, TN 37601
(423) 928-7477
3rd Commission District
Larry England 10 McGregor Place
Johnson City, TN 37604
(423) 361-7806
Mitch Meredith 2012 Northwood Drive
Johnson City, TN 37601
(423) 753-1847
Phil Carriger 6 Fox Run Lane
Johnson City, TN 37604
(423) 741-3087
4th Commission District
Suzy Williams 7 Llewellyn Wood
Johnson City, TN 37601
(423) 943-1563
Richard Johnson 702 South MountainView Circle
Johnson City, TN 37601
(423) 262-9963
Lee Chase 111 W. 11th Avenue
Johnson City, TN 37604
(423) 926-1490
5th Commission District
Gary McAllister 3635 W Walnut Street
Jonesborough, TN 37659
(423) 557-7912
Robbie Tester 31 Cherokee Ridge Court
Johnson City, TN 37604
(423) 943-0188
6th Commission District
William "Joe" Grandy 620 Old Embreeville Road
Jonesborough, TN 37659
(423) 791-1033
Dr. Paul E Stanton 1411 Walnut Grove Road
Jonesborough, TN 37659
(423) 534-5921
Tom Krieger 304 Jim Range Road
Jonesborough, TN 37659
(423) 737-0106
7th Commission District
Mike Ford 191 John Garst Road
Jonesborough, TN 37659
(423) 753-0186
Mark Larkey 114 Elizabeth Avenue
Gray, TN 37615
(423) 477-3024
Bryan Davenport 1120 Keeview Drive
Gray, TN 37615
(423) 676-3216
8th Commission District
Pat Wolfe 2467 Hwy 11E
Telford, TN 37690
(423) 416-9200
Steve Light 153 Thornburg Hills Road
Limestone, TN 37681
(423) 257-4302
9th Commission District
Todd Hensley 549 Matthews Mill Road
Telford, TN 37690
(423) 943-5758
Danny Edens 103 Meadowview Subdivision
Telford, TN 37690
(423) 483-3522
10th Commission District
Forrest Boreing 634 Charlie Hicks Road
Jonesborough, TN 37659
(423) 741-0956
County commissioners are elected in the regular August election for a four-year term which begins Sept. 1. County commissioners must reside within and be a qualified voter of the district represented. County employees otherwise qualified to serve may hold office as a legislative body member.
However, no person elected or appointed as county executive, sheriff, trustee, register, county clerk, assessor of property, or any other countywide office filled by popular vote or by the legislative body may be nominated for or elected to the legislative body. If a commission member accepts nomination for any of the above offices, or for the General Assembly when the office is being filled by the legislative body, that member becomes disqualified to continue in office and a vacancy in the commission will automatically exist.
The County commission sets its meeting dates and place, but must meet at least four times a year. Vacancies are filled by the remaining commission members until a successor is elected in the next general election.
rules_of_procedures_17.06.02_adopted_June_2017.pdf722.74 KB