Washington County, Tennessee is designated as a Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) and through their NPDES stormwater discharge permit with the State of Tennessee is required to develop a Stormwater Management Program.  Additionally, Washington County, Tennessee is designated as a Qualified Local Program (QLP).  This allows Washington County to issue the permit directly to the applicant instead of doing a dual permit approval process wtih both the local MS4 and the state of Tennessee by acting as an authorized agent to issue the Notice of Coverage for the state, saving both time and money.

The Stormwater Management Program has five (5) components:

  1. Public Education and Outreach
  2. Public Involvement/Participation
  3. Illicit Discharge Detection and Elimination
  4. Construction Site Stormwater Runoff
  5. Permanent Stormwater Management
  6. Pollution Prevention and Good Housekeeping for County Operations


resolution_12-08-06a-1_peak_stormwater_management_and_erosion_and_sedimentation_control.pdf552.11 KB
resolution_12-08-07_-_illicit_discharge_and_illegal_connection_control_measures.pdf180.98 KB
resolution_12-08-08a-1_permanent_water_quality_stormwater_management.pdf338.94 KB