County Commission

Agendas & Minutes

The Washington County Mayor's Office believes taxpayers and citizens deserve open and transparent government. Agenda packets are completed and distributed to commissioners before each month's full Commission meeting. Agenda packets from the previous month's meeting will stay in the "Archived agenda packets" section.

Minutes are completed soon after each meeting of the Washington County Board of Commissioners, but are not official until approved at the following month's meeting. As a result, the most recent minutes posted will run one month behind other documents.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


The County Commission sets its meeting dates and place, but must meet at least four times a year.

Richard Tucker
1st Commission District

Richard Tucker Contact & Biography

Marty Johnson
2nd Commission District

Marty Johnson Contact & Biography

Jerome Fitzgerald
3rd Commission District

Jerome Fitzgerald

Jerome Fitzgerald Contact & Biography

Josh Edens
4th Commission District

Josh Edens Contact & Biography

Bryan Davenport
5th Commission District

Bryan Davenport

Bryan Davenport Contact & Biography

Greg Matherly
6th Commission District

Greg Matherly

Greg Matherly Contact & Biography

Larry England
7th Commission District

Larry England Contact & Biography

Freddie Malone
8th Commission District

Freddie Malone

Freddie Malone Contact & Biography

Suzy Williams
9th Commission District

Suzy Williams

Suzy Williams Contact & Biography

David Tomita
10th Commission District

David Tomita Contact & Biography

Jodi Jones
11th Commission District

Jodi Jones

Jodi Jones Contact & Biography

Lewis Wexler
12th Commission District

Lewis Wexler Contact & Biography

Kenneth Huffine
13th Commission District

Kenneth Huffine

Kenneth Huffine Contact & Biography

Jim Wheeler
14th Commission District

Jim Wheeler

Jim Wheeler Contact & Biography

Ben Carder
15th Commission District

Ben Carder Contact & Biography


Once called the County Court, the modern County Commission actually functions as the legislative body of county government, working primarily through the committee system. There are seven standing committees and numerous other committees boards and commissions whose vote functions as a recommendation to the full County Commission. There are 15 commission districts in Washington County with one commissioner representing each district. 

County commissioners are elected in the August general election for a four-year term, which begins September 1. County commissioners must reside within and be a qualified voter of the district represented. County employees otherwise qualified to serve may hold office as a legislative body member.

However, no person elected or appointed as county executive, sheriff, trustee, register, county clerk, assessor of property, or any other countywide office filled by popular vote or by the legislative body may be nominated for or elected to the legislative body. If a commission member accepts nomination for any of the above offices, or for the General Assembly when the office is being filled by the legislative body, that member becomes disqualified to continue in office and a vacancy in the commission will automatically exist. Vacancies are filled by the remaining commission members until a successor is elected in the next general election.